IRIS Account Closing
- What account is closing?
- What am I losing access to??
- Can I keep using my @eecs or @cs.berkeley.edu email addresses?
- What about my web page?
- How do I take a copy of my files with me?
- What happens to my mailing list subscriptions?
What account is closing?
You may have been sent to this page because your IRIS account is closing. If so, this is related to your @eecs.berkeley.edu and/or your @cs.berkeley.edu accounts. If you have an appointment outside of EECS, you may still have access to your @berkeley.edu account after your IRIS account closes. Please read carefully any messages you receive from the CalMail / bMail team, which will tell you when your @berkeley.edu account is closing.
What am I losing access to?
When your IRIS account closes, you will lose access to IRIS-provided services such as:
- email access to your @eecs or @cs.berkeley.edu account
- files stored in your home.eecs.berkeley.edu directory or project.eecs storage
- use of the IRIS wired and wireless networks in Cory Hall, Soda Hall, Sutardja-Dai Hall, BWRC and HMMB.
- login access to EECS (non-instructional) servers such as login.eecs.berkeley.edu and winterm.eecs.berkeley.edu
- use of EECS site-licensed software
- help from the IRIS helpdesk in 395 Cory Hall
Until your account is closed, you will have access to your files. See below for tips on how to take a copy of your data with you.
If you are enrolled in any EECS classes, this will not affect your EECS Instructional accounts.
Special Note about Registered Network Devices
The IRIS Network Policy requires that all devices on our network have at least one system administrator with an active IRIS account. After your account closes, you will be removed as the system administrator from any registered devices. IRIS network support is not provided for any devices without a system administrator with an active IRIS account. If there are any devices that will be affected by your account closure, they will be listed in the warning email you received. It is up to you or your group to submit a network update form to update the sysadmins for any devices that are still being used by your group.
Can I keep using my @eecs or @cs.berkeley.edu email addresses?
For most people, their @eecs.berkeley.edu and @cs.berkeley.edu addresses are simply aliases for their primary @berkeley.edu address. As long as the @berkeley.edu address is valid, the aliases will persist. You can view your current aliases by clicking the “Your personal info” link on the page Manage your bConnected Google account.
Retired Faculty and Staff may make arrangements to retain their Google accounts. See The Retirement Center for more details. Alumni are now eligible to retain bConnected Google accounts through the Cal Alumni Network.
For people who will not be keeping their bConnected account or who never had one, we can forward the @eecs.berkeley.edu or @cs.berkeley.edu address to an off-campus address. If you would like such email forwarding for your @eecs/@cs addresses, please email the EECS Helpdesk.
What about my web page?
After your account is closed you cannot host your web page files on our server, but we can put a redirect in place so that people looking for your old web page are directed to your new page. At this time there is no self-serve way to set up web forwarding, so requests for URL redirect services should be sent by email to help@eecs.
How do I take a copy of my files with me?
It is critical that you do this before your account closes! You won’t be able to login after it closes.
If you are on a Linux/Unix or Mac OS X machine, open a shell and run:
ssh -l <username> login.eecs.berkeley.edu /usr/bin/gtar cf - --exclude=.snapshot . > myeecshome.tar
If you are on a Windows or Mac OS X machine:
Make a Remote Desktop connection to our Windows Terminal Server, winterm.eecs.berkeley.edu, sharing your local drive. Then on winterm, copy the files to your local drive.
How To Save your bMail email:
You can download your bMail contents to another Gmail account using Google’s Mail Fetcher. See this campus Knowledge Base article for details.
Note: Limited account holders do not have access to login.eecs or winterm, and will have to make arrangements to use their account sponsor’s computers to do backups.
What happens to my mailing list subscriptions?
The short answer is: It depends on the list. Assuming you have set up mail forwarding for your subscribed address, there is no policy preventing you from remaining on lists on lists.eecs.berkeley.edu. However, some lists’ membership is derived automatically from various external data sources such as UC Human Resources or Student Information Services data, so you may be automatically removed from some such lists, such as the eecs-grads* lists, or our staff lists.
If your subscribed address begins ‘bouncing’ and continues to do so for some amount of time, then you will be automatically removed from lists on lists.eecs.berkeley.edu.
All mailing lists on lists.eecs.berkeley.edu must be owned by at least one active account holder. If you were the sole active owner of a list on lists.eecs, it will eventually be closed. This “reaping” happens about once a year. See our mailing list FAQ for instructions on how to transfer ownership of a list to someone else.
The mailing list FAQ page has instructions on listing all your list memberships and unsubscribing.